Launch of Planted: Stories From Manitoba’s Natural World

It’s been a while since I’ve been here. But I’m here to tell you a bit about what I’ve been up to.

For the past year, I’ve been planning, researching, and writing a creative non-fiction book called Planted: Stories From Manitoba’s Natural World. And now, I can finally share it with you.

I’m having a launch on March 2 at McNally Robinson Grant Park at 7 p.m. There’s going to be a seed swap, I’ll read a passage from the book, and Laura Reeves and John Morgan will be on a panel discussion about Manitoba plants and fungi.

You can read more info about the book and the launch at kaitlinvitt.com.

So what’s the book about? I share the stories of eight people who are inspired by Manitoba’s plants and fungi. Like Nadia Monaco, who followed a trail of king bolete mushrooms until she was lost in Manitoba’s Interlake. And Lindsey Emberley, who found healing in nature after her infant daughter passed away.

The entire book was a family effort. My sister drew illustrations for the book. My other sister helped me with story ideas and read through chapters to offer suggestions. My brother read the entire book to help with editing. My sister-in-law assisted with the layout and graphic design. My brother-in-law put a beer in my hand when I needed it most. My niece and nephew were the cutest stress relievers. My Baba and Gigi kept me interested in nature right from my childhood, like by showing me the best mushroom picking spots and teaching me how to graft a tree. And my parents supported me, reminded me to relax, fed me, inspired me, and cared for me while I wrote this book, and always.

Everyone is welcome to the launch, and I hope to see you there on March 2! It will be not only a time to celebrate the book, but also a time to celebrate nature in Manitoba.

Leave a Reply

