Some light reading

I visited Chicago at the start of May (check out #CreCommChiTown on Instagram) with school. I was the least prepared I’ve ever been for a trip. I’ve travelled a bit in the past — with family, with my dance group — and I’ve mostly been a follower. But I still try and learn a bit about the city before I go, so I know what I’m in for.

Well, that was not the case for Chicago. Between school and dance and work, I didn’t get the chance to research. But I still had a good time, thanks to instructors and classmates who made plans for me and, of course, thanks to accidental discoveries.

Highlights include shopping and eating (and picking out dream homes) in Wicker Park, eating at Bijan’s Bistro, and going on an architecture boat cruise.

Chicago required me to change my list of top five favourite cities to six. (In no particular order, they are Budapest, Winnipeg, Lviv, Portland, New York, and now Chicago.)

In Chicago, I couldn’t help but notice the brilliant blue lake. (Well, to be honest, I didn’t know if it was a lake or stream or sea at first. Like I said, I didn’t know much about the city, including common information. Turns out it’s Lake Michigan.) It was a nice change from our grey/brown, murky water back home.

I wanted to write about why the lake is so blue, but I couldn’t find much information on it. It could have just been a reflection of the sky or buildings, but I think it was more than that. Perhaps it was from spring turnover in the lake and warm temperatures, allowing algae to grow. Or maybe it was the type of sediment floating around or sitting at the bottom of the lake. In other words, I have more research to do.

But in the meantime, check out The Secret History of Bioluminescence from Hakai Magazine. Bioluminescence is quite fascinating. (Remember when I tried my hand at witnessing bioluminescent mushrooms?)

Leave a Reply

